“I feel a lot of pride because I am achieving so much” – Emily’s #LDWeek22 story


To mark Learning Disability Week, which runs from 20 – 26 June, Emily shared her story.

Hello, my name is Emily and I am 30 years old. I like to spend time with my family and dogs. I like to keep fit and cook vegetarian meals. My favourite meals to cook are vegetarian spaghetti bolognese and vegetarian stir fry.

During the pandemic I moved out of my family home and got a house by myself. This has been an amazing experience and I am happy that my independence has grown so much. It was difficult to move out through the Covid pandemic but I am very proud that I have achieved this.

I also volunteer at local library. I really enjoy meeting new people and being a part of the library team. I also get paid to do easy read checking to make documents more accessible for people with a learning disability. This allows me to use my skills to make sure they are put together correctly.

I feel a lot of pride and a sense of a purpose because I am achieving so much. There have been a few challenges through the pandemic and it makes me happy that I have overcome these.

Emily’s mum added: “When Emily moved into her own house in the pandemic, it was a big change for all of us and it is great to see her doing so well and enjoying her independence. She is going to yoga classes and meeting new people which is great. I would like to say to her believe in yourself, be confident and reach for the stars. Never underestimate what you are able to achieve.”

“I feel a lot of pride because I am achieving so much” – Emily’s #LDWeek22 story

time to read: 1 min