The Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) is made up of ten specific measures to help compare the experiences of disabled and non-disabled staff. Mandated through the
NHS standard contract, its aim is to support positive change for existing employees and enable a more inclusive environment.

The specific measures are:

  • Line management and the recruitment and retention of disabled staff
  • Improving disability declaration rates
  • The role of senior leaders in supporting workplace disability
  • Developing WDES action plans

View the workforce equality reports

Page last updated on: