Become a governor of our Trust

Members’ Council elections now open – apply now!

Read our notice of election.

If you’re passionate about the healthcare of your local community, it’s only right that you get to have a say on how it’s provided. That’s why we’re inviting you to be the voice of your area by standing for election to our Members’ Council. As a Governor on our Members’ Council, you will:

• Make sure we’re working in line with our mission and values, and support the principles and values of the NHS as a whole
• Hold Non-Executive Directors to account for the performance of our Trust Board
• Influence our plans for the future
• Talk to our members and share with us what they tell you
• Choose who our Chair and Non-Executive Directors should be
• Choose who our auditors should be

Who can be a Governor?

You can be a Governor if:
• You are a member of the Trust in the constituency where you live
• You are aged 16 or over
• You make a commitment to fulfil your duties if you’re elected

Apply here:

Who can’t be a Governor?

Some people are not allowed to be Governors, for example if you have been declared bankrupt or received a prison sentence of three months or more. There are other restrictions – read the full details here:


We have Governor vacancies in the following constituencies:


• Barnsley – 2 seats
• Calderdale – 2 seats
• Kirklees – 4 seats
• Wakefield – 1 seat
• Rest of Yorkshire, Humber and neighbouring counties – 1 seat


• Medicine and Pharmacy – 1 seat
• Nursing – 1 seat
• Social care staff in integrated teams – 1 seat
• Nursing support – 1 seat

I want to be a Governor – what do I need to do?

Our election process is managed by Civica Election Services (CES) on our behalf. This is to make sure that our elections are managed impartially and fairly and that the process is independent and transparent.

To be a Governor you’ll need to fill out a nomination form. You can get a form (including an Easy Read version) in the following ways:

What happens next?

All nominations to stand for election must be received by CES by 5pm on Thursday 17 February 2022. Members will then be able to vote for who they would like to be their governor. Ballot papers will be sent to qualifying members, who can vote by post or online, on Thursday 10 March 2022.
Voting closes on Thursday 7 April 2022. If successful, your term of office will begin from 1 May 2022 and the first Members’ Council meeting that you will be invited to attend will be held in May 2022.

Members’ Council elections voting open from 11 March to 7 April 2022

Read our notice of poll.

It is hereby declared that elections are to be held in the following constituencies:

Public: Wakefield – 1 to elect

Candidate – Bob Clayden

Candidate – Charles Elliot

Staff: Nursing Support – 1 to elect

Candidate – Laura Habib

Candidate – Debs Teale

How to vote

Voting will open on 11 March 2022 and voting instructions will be distributed to qualifying members by post or by email.

Members who have received their voting instructions by post have the choice of casting their vote by returning the ballot paper by post or casting a vote online.

Members who have received their voting instructions by email can cast a vote online only.

Votes can be cast by returning the ballot paper by post to:
Civica Election Services
The Election Centre
33 Clarendon Road

Votes can be cast online at the following website:

All votes must be received by the Independent Scrutineer (Civica Election Services), at the address or website, above no later than 5pm on 07 April 2022.

Inquiries about replacement ballot papers or voting instructions should be directed by telephone to the Returning Officer on 020 8889 9203 no later than 5pm on 05 April 2022.

The contact address for each of these candidates is C/O Ciara Hutchinson, The Returning Officer,Civica Election Services, The Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London, N8 0NW and the email address is

Page last updated on: