New non-executive directors for local NHS Trust


South West Yorkshire Mental Health NHS Trust is pleased to announce the appointment of Ian Black and Bernard Lee as non-executive directors. Professor Anne Gregory has also been reappointed as a non-executive director for a further two years.

South West Yorkshire Mental Health NHS Trust provides specialist mental health and learning disability services to the people of Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield. The Trust also provides some specialist forensic services to the whole of Yorkshire and the Humber. Non-executive directors along with executive directors are responsible for ensuring accountability to the public for the services the Trust manages.

Ian Black lives in Huddersfield and is a fellow of both the institutes of chartered accountants and chartered bankers. He spent 20 years at Halifax plc/HBOS with a series of director roles in operations, risk and finance in the UK, Continental Europe and Australia. He is treasurer, and previously chair, of Scope (the UK disability charity); and a non-executive director for Nisa-Todays and McKeith Press. Ian has no declared political activity.

Bernard Fee lives in Calderdale. He is a highly experienced commercial manager with over 25 years working for Marks and Spencer in a variety of senior roles within marketing, finance and operations. Bernard has no declared political activity.

Professor Anne Gregory lives in Huddersfield and is Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Leeds Metropolitan University. She has also been Director of the University’s consultancy centre, Assistant Dean at Europe’s largest Business School and a company director. Anne has 9 years experience working as a non-executive director in the NHS and has also been a consultant to the Department of Health. Anne is a fellow and previous president of the Institute of Public Relations (IPR). She has no declared political activity.

Trust Chair Joyce Catterick said, "I’m delighted to welcome Ian and Bernard to South West Yorkshire Mental Health Trust. Their extensive skills and varied experience will be invaluable to the Trust, particularly as we continue our journey towards becoming a Foundation Trust, a different type of NHS organisation based on membership. I’m also very pleased that Anne has been reappointed for a further two years. Together, along with our executive director colleagues, we look forward to continuing to develop and improve NHS services for local people with mental health problems and learning disabilities."

These appointments have been in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. All non executive appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees political activity (if any) to be made public.

Non-executive directors each receive an annual remuneration of £5875. Ian and Bernard will serve as non-executive directors until March 2011 and Anne Gregory has been reappointed until May 2010.

New non-executive directors for local NHS Trust

time to read: 2 min